Langgaard: Sinfonia interna

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Langgaard
LABELS: Dacapo
WORKS: Sinfonia interna
PERFORMER: Anne Margrethe Dahl (soprano), Pia Hansen (mezzo-soprano), Jens Krogsgaard Jensen (tenor); Canzone Choir, Aarhus SO/Frans Rasmussen
CATALOGUE NO: 8.224136
The ‘Sinfonia interna’ on which Langgaard embarked in 1915 underwent many changes, its music being reused in other contexts. At times it seems the raw material of art rather than the finished work but there are moments of real vision in this lush, post-Wagnerian score and the performance is totally committed. Robert Layton