Three settings of the Magnificat from three members of the Bach family


'If you needed an aural demonstration of how the musical tectonic plates were shifting in the years spanning JS Bach’s arrival in Leipzig and the emergence of the young Mozart you would be hard pressed to find a more illuminating disc than this latest offering from Arcangelo.


JS Bach

Magnificat in D, BWV 243

JC Bach

Magnificat in C, E 22

CPE Bach

Magnificat in D, H 722

Joélle Harvey (soprano), Olivia Vermeulen (mezzo-soprano), Iestyn Davies (countertenor), Thomas Walker (tenor), Thomas Bauer (baritone); Arcangelo/Jonathan Cohen


Hyperion CDA 68157   76:48 mins