Brahms; Mendelssohn

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Brahms; Mendelssohn
LABELS: Hanssler
WORKS: Violin Concertos
PERFORMER: Ida Haendel (violin); Stuttgart Radio SO/Hans Müller-Kray
CATALOGUE NO: 94.201 (1953/5)


Taken from a series of recordings made in the 1950s for German radio when Haendel was at the height of her powers, the Isaac Stern-like adrenal surge of these readings galvanises attention. Julian Haylock