Collection: The Butterfly Lovers

Our rating 
3.0 out of 5 star rating 3.0

COMPOSERS: Gang Chen,Huichang Yan,Jianer Zhu
WORKS: The Butterfly Lovers Violin Concerto; Love in Spring; Parting of the Newly Wedded
PERFORMER: Takako Nishizaki (violin); Shanghai Conservatory SO/Fan Chengwu
CATALOGUE NO: 8.554334


The two composers of The Butterfly Lovers must have listened to Puccini’s Turandot before deciding to emulate the Western vision of Chinese music. The resulting pentatonic ramble is neither one thing nor the other. Christopher Lambton