All products and recordings are chosen independently by our editorial team. This review contains affiliate links and we may receive a commission for purchases made. Please read our affiliates FAQ page to find out more.

Elgar: Symphony No. 2 and Marches

London Symphony Orchestra/Colin Davis (ALC 1407)

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0
ALC 1407

Symphony No. 2; Marches
London Symphony Orchestra/Colin Davis
Alto ALC 1407 (1988 & 2005)   72.12 mins


Elgar’s Second Symphony is performed with bleak and haunting magnificence by Colin Davis and the LSO, who play superlatively. Barry Tuckwell conducts the two Marches. Malcolm Hayes