Moeran: Symphony; Rhapsody in F sharp

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

LABELS: Chandos
WORKS: Symphony; Rhapsody in F sharp
PERFORMER: Margaret Fingerhut (piano); Ulster Orchestra/Vernon Handley
CATALOGUE NO: CHAN 7106 Reissue (1988, 1989)
Moeran’s Symphony (1938) is one of his most compelling works. His first attempt at a major orchestral score, it took ten years to complete. With a compelling sweep which overcomes an occasional lack of symphonic cogency and consequent loss of momentum, the music has some magnificently stirring moments. These are generated to the full in this compelling performance, captured in magnificent orchestral sound with a full dynamic range.


The Rhapsody (1943) was written for Harriet Cohen. It has never gained much fame, but Margaret Fingerhut makes out a good case for the work here, particularly in the exciting final stages. Terry Barfoot