Rachmaninov Symphony No. 2

Our rating 
3.0 out of 5 star rating 3.0

COMPOSERS: Rachmaninov
WORKS: Symphony No. 2; Isle of the Dead; Piano Concerto No. 3; Symphonic Dances
PERFORMER: Andsnes (piano); Oslo PO/Berglund; St Petersburg PO/Jansons; LSO/Previn
CATALOGUE NO: 237 6162 Reissue (1976-95)


Andsnes’s Third Concerto is the only disappointment among the classics presented here, though EMI might have gone for Previn’s account of the Second Symphony rather than Jansons’s. David Nice