Saint-Saëns: Cello Concertos Nos 1 & 2

Our rating 
2.0 out of 5 star rating 2.0

COMPOSERS: Saint-Saens
LABELS: PentaTone
WORKS: Cello Concertos Nos 1 & 2; Suite for Cello and Orchestra; Allegro appassionata for Cello and Orchestra
PERFORMER: Walevska (cello); Orchestre national de L’Opera de Monte-Carlo/Inbal
CATALOGUE NO: PentaTone PTC 5186 136 (1973)

Driven performances of the Concertos; greater affection in the slighter works, but, despite Walevska’s technical assurance, there’s an overall tenseness. Martin Cotton