Schubert: Rosamunde Incidental Music

Our rating 
2.0 out of 5 star rating 2.0

COMPOSERS: Dvorak,Schubert
WORKS: Schubert: Rosamunde Incidental Music; Tyrolean Dances; Dvorák: Symphony No. 9 (New World)
PERFORMER: Symphony Orchestra/Leopold Stokowski
CATALOGUE NO: CACD 0550 Reissue (1947-52)


Stokowski slathers Schubert’s innate charm with such suffocating cuteness as to be practically condescending. Orchestral intonation is not ideal and the sound emerges oversized and tubby. David Breckbill