Bach: Organ Works

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

WORKS: Organ Works
PERFORMER: Peter Hurford (organ)
CATALOGUE NO: 436 225-2 ADD (1978-81)
Whatever you’ve read about Hurford’s Bach is true. Thinking musician, informed scholar, consummate virtuoso, his Decca cycle is magnificent. Experience a grand D minor Toccata and Fugue (the one transcribed by Busoni and Stokowski). Indulge in a brilliantly articulated G major Fantasia, BWV 572. Listen to a Toccata, Adagio and Fugue that’s weighty without being pompous. Sample the culminative, rhythmic power of an imperious D major Prelude and Fugue. This is a cleverly planned sampler (in the form of a Baroque arch structure) from an artist with an inspirational sense of the epic and the visionary. Physically spectacular sound.