Bach: Keyboard Concertos

Our rating 
3.0 out of 5 star rating 3.0

LABELS: Erato Bonsai
WORKS: Keyboard Concertos
PERFORMER: Ton KoopmanAmsterdam Baroque Orchestra
CATALOGUE NO: 4509-91930-2 DDD (2 discs) (1990/91)
Koopman’s tempi are a little hurried, his harpsichord tone a shade brittle, but overall these are stylish ‘period’ performances. However, Erato’s bizarre decision to omit BWV 1055 means the set is incomplete and therefore unrecommendable. The absence of insert-notes also leaves one puzzling how – and why – Koopman has transformed the fragmentary BWV 1059 into a three-movement organ concerto. Graham Lock