Bruch: Symphony No. 1; Symphony No. 2; Symphony No. 3

Our rating 
3.0 out of 5 star rating 3.0

LABELS: Philips Duo
WORKS: Symphony No. 1; Symphony No. 2; Symphony No. 3
PERFORMER: Salvatore Accardo (violin); Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra/Kurt Masur
CATALOGUE NO: 462 164-2 ADD 1978
With their obvious indebtedness to Mendelssohn and Schumann, Bruch’s three symphonies are far less original manifestations of the late 19th-century conservative symphonic tradition than those of his great contemporary, Brahms. Nonetheless, Masur and the Leipzigers make a persuasive case for their reappraisal in performances that are affectionate if sometimes distinctly earthbound. More exciting music-making is provided in the assortment of violin works where Accardo appears completely attuned to Bruch’s lyrical vein, managing to convince me that the deeply affecting In memoriam hardly deserves to languish in almost total obscurity. Erik Levi