Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Bruch/Paganini/Beethoven
LABELS: Philips
WORKS: Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor; Violin Concerto No. 1 in D; Romance No. 2 in F
PERFORMER: Herman Krebbers (violin)Brabants Orchestra/Hein Jordans; Residentie Orchestra, Vienna SO/Willem van Otterloo
CATALOGUE NO: 438 774-2 ADD stereo/mono (1955/64/65)
While never pursuing a high-profile solo career, Herman Krebbers may be regarded as one of the unsung heroes of the violin, winning much praise from critics for his recordings of the Beethoven and Brahms violin concertos. This collection illustrates his undoubted virtues – in particular a purity of approach that subsumes any quirks of personality. Perhaps the Paganini requires a more charismatic interpretation, but the Bruch has a marvellous concept of line which forces one to listen afresh to this overplayed work. Erik Levi