Bruckner: Symphony No 3; Symphony No. 8

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

LABELS: Sony Essential Classics
WORKS: Symphony No 3; Symphony No. 8
PERFORMER: Cleveland Orchestra/George Szell
CATALOGUE NO: SB2K 53519 ADD (1966/70)
How good to see less common Bruckner symphonies, such as the Third, appearing as Essential Classics. Szell’s recordings were made in the late Sixties and have survived transfer fairly well (a few blips notwithstanding). He secures disciplined and sensitive playing from his Cleveland Orchestra – hardly surprising considering the martinet he was. The Eighth is particularly impressive, with majestic brass and seductive strings and harp in the middle movements. Christopher Fifield