Chopin: Nocturnes

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

LABELS: Sony Essential Classics
WORKS: Nocturnes
PERFORMER: Fou Ts’ong (piano)
CATALOGUE NO: SB2K 53249 ADD (2 discs) (1978/80)
The delicacy and clarity of Fou Ts’ong’s playing find a natural home in the nocturnes, bringing out the bel canto qualities of the pieces – the limpid melodies and dreamy ornamentation – without being effete or overly mannered, though at times the pedalling seems rather obtrusive. The sound is close but still warmly atmospheric. Also available are the 57 mazurkas (SB2K 53246), equally impressive, if something of a marathon. William Humphreys-Jones