Collection: Arthur Grumiaux Early Recordings

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Corelli,Debussy,Kreisler,Schubert,Veracini
LABELS: Philips
WORKS: G major Sonata
PERFORMER: Arthur Grumiaux (violin), Riccardo Castagnone (piano)
CATALOGUE NO: 438 516-2 ADD mono(3 discs) (1955-58)


This collection of violin and piano works from Grumiaux and Castagnone vividly demonstrates the unity of purpose and interpretive range of this duo. Their strongly directed account of Debussy’s Sonata, and Lekeu’s passionate and lyrical G major Sonata contrasts well with the Schubert pieces and Kreisler miniatures, where Grumiaux’s natural expressiveness and purity of line are at their best. The Baroque works sound bold and exciting, and the Paganini pieces display Grumiaux’s effortless virtuosity. Nicholas Rast