Collection: Czech Philharmonic Centenary Homage

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Dvorak,Martinu,Smetana,Suk
LABELS: Supraphon
WORKS: The Bartered bride Overture; Suite in A, Op. 98b; Concerto Grosso; Ripening (Rehearsal)
PERFORMER: Czech PO/Karel Ancerl, Vaclav Talich, Vaclav Neumann, Jiri Belohlavek
CATALOGUE NO: SU 1996-2 AAD/DDD mono/Stereo (1958-90)


This ‘Centenary Homage to the Czech Philharmonic’ is for anyone interested in the art of conducting. The magical string playing which results from Ancerl’s hard-driven account of the Bartered Bride overture is an object lesson in how to get the best out of a great orchestra.


Still finer is Talich’s rehearsal of part of Suk’s Ripening, revealing the true depth of this remarkable score. From more recent times comes a sharply characterised reading of Martinu’s Concerto Grosso by Belohlávek. The only disappointment is Neumann’s bland performance of Dvorák’s American Suite. Jan Smaczny