Collection: Julian Bream Ð The Ultimate Guitar Collection

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Albeniz,Cutting,Dowland,et al,Sanz,Vivaldi
WORKS: Concierto de Aranjuez; Suite española; Valses poeticos
PERFORMER: Julian Bream (lute, guitar); Monteverdi Orchestra/John Eliot Gardiner
CATALOGUE NO: 74321 33705 2 ADD (1959-83)


No one apart from his mentor Segovia has done more to enhance the standing of the guitar than Julian Bream. This generously filled set concentrates on the Spanish repertoire, including the popular Rodrigo Concierto de Aranjuez, but there is room also for Bream’s artistry in early music featuring the lute. The programme is thoughtfully chosen, the performances are splendid, and the recordings, which date back to 1959, are entirely reliable. In all, this collection justifies its ambitious title. Terry Barfoot