Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Copland/Menotti
LABELS: Vanguard
WORKS: Piano Concerto; Piano Concerto in F
PERFORMER: Earl Wild (piano)Symphony of the Air/Aaron Copland, Jorge Mester
If Copland had not written the jazzy second movement of his early Piano Concerto, Bernstein would have had to do so – in his Fancy Free mode. With its curious, halting commas in the solo part and the cross-rhythms between piano and orchestra it makes a perfect companion to the more austere first section. Menotti’s neo-classical Concerto, with its scurrying piano part in the outer movements, its lyrical Lento and colourful orchestration throughout, is an unaccountably neglected work. Wild’s playing is as firmly structured and thought-provoking as ever, and the sound has razor-sharp definition. Wadham Sutton