Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Dukas/D’indy
LABELS: Philips Solo
WORKS: La Péri; L’apprenti sorcier; Polyeucte; Symphonie sur un chant montagnard français
PERFORMER: Marie-Françoise Bucquet (piano) Monte-Carlo National Opera Orchestra/Paul Capolongo
CATALOGUE NO: 454 127-2 ADD (1971/8)
These well-made Seventies recordings provide a welcome tour of some attractive French repertoire from either side of 1900. Dukas’s The Sorcerer’s Apprentice is especially lively, but David Zinman also brings great poise and finesse to the same composer’s marvellously atmospheric ‘Poème dansé’, La Péri (complete with its resplendent brass fanfares), and to the luminous overture Polyeucte. D’Indy’s tuneful symphony receives an equally persuasive performance, though there are a few moments of instability in the finale. Stephen Maddock