Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Dutilleux/Schmitt/Dukas
WORKS: Piano Sonata; Deux mirages; Piano Sonata in E flat minor
PERFORMER: John Ogdon (piano)
CATALOGUE NO: CDM 5 65996 2 ADD (1974)
Debussy regarded the Dukas Piano Sonata as being an example of the utmost perfection in composition, and it would be hard to disagree. I am uncertain whether the Dutilleux has received similar plaudits, but it is no less a masterpiece. Add an artist of the calibre of John Ogdon to the equation and something special can be expected. The performances are alive with insight as Ogdon traverses the gamut of emotions with ease and no little passion. Strongly recommended. Christopher Dingle