Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Ferguson/Finzi
WORKS: Amore langueo; Piano Concerto; Eclogue
PERFORMER: Martyn Hill (tenor)Howard Shelley (piano); London Symphony Chorus, City of London Sinfonia/Richard Hickox
CATALOGUE NO: CDM 7 64738 2 DDD (1987)
Ferguson wrote nothing finer than Amore langueo, an extended 30-minute cantata. Hickox certainly captures the music’s wide-ranging moods, while in the Concerto, Shelley and the strings prove most sensitive advocates. Finzi’s Eclogue, from a projected concerto, was edited by Ferguson, and here too the performance is sympathetic to the tranquil mood. Terry Barfoot