Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Franck/Rachmaninov
LABELS: Mercury Living Presence
WORKS: Symphony in D minor; Rachmaninov: Symphony No. 2
PERFORMER: Detroit SO/Paul Paray
CATALOGUE NO: 434 368-2 ADD (1957/59)
In the Fifties, the Detroit Symphony under Paul Paray was a highly articulate ensemble possessed of poise and strength and an abundance of irrepressible New World confidence. These things may have been surplus to the requirements of Franck’s graceless Symphony – although it sounds here as good as it can – but make for a thrilling Rachmaninov Two. The swirling energy of the finale is the most obvious match for the orchestra’s natural buoyancy, but Rachmaninov in heartsore vein is equally served by their profound artistic resources. Christopher Wood