Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Grainger/Coates
LABELS: Mercury Living Presence
WORKS: Country Gardens; Molly on the Shore; The Three Elizabeths
PERFORMER: Eastman-Rochester Pops Orchestra, London Pops Orchestra/Frederick Fennell
CATALOGUE NO: 434 330-2 ADD (1959/65)
This programme works well and though the sound lacks body it is perfectly acceptable. The Grainger performances are fresh and alert – essential ingredients in this repertoire – and only the last ounce of charm is missing. Eric Coates deserves a wider currency, and his suite The Three Elizabeths is an excellent introduction to an art which proves that light music need not be slight. Fennell captures just the right expressive tone and his orchestra responds in virtuoso style. Terry Barfoot