Lindberg: Kinetics; Kraft; Zona; Stroke; Twine; Ritratto; Ablauf

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

LABELS: Finlandia
WORKS: Kinetics; Kraft; Zona; Stroke; Twine; Ritratto; Ablauf
PERFORMER: Various performers
CATALOGUE NO: 0630-19756-2
Two well-filled discs offering an almost comprehensive survey of the works written during the Eighties by one of the most stimulating Finnish composers of the younger generation. Lindberg first attracted widespread attention with the large-scale orchestral piece Kraft – a disturbing and emotionally draining essay in musical primitivism which is delivered here with exemplary authority by Esa-Pekka Salonen and the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra. Of the other works, I was particularly drawn to Kinetics, which utilises a complex harmonic language to surprisingly direct effect, though pieces like Action – Situation – Signification, combining musique concrète with conventional instrumental sounds, are a much tougher and less attractive proposition. Erik Levi