Mozart/Weber/Spohr: Clarinet Concerto K622

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Mozart/Weber/Spohr
LABELS: Decca Serenata
WORKS: Clarinet Concerto K622
PERFORMER: Gervase de Peyer (clarinet)LSO/Colin Davis, Peter Maag
CATALOGUE NO: 433 727-2 ADD (1960/61)
De Peyer’s rapturously autumnal Mozart delights, in spite of occasionally ponderous and indifferent support from the LSO, under Peter Maag. This ardent and meditative Kingsway Hall performance convincingly belies its age in its newly digitised form. Colin Davis presided over the Weber and Spohr offerings, taped a year later at Decca’s West Hampstead studios. De Peyer’s playing is superb; impassioned and brilliant in the Weber especially, yet convincingly majestic in the less familiar Spohr work. An attractive disc, then, but be prepared to make allowances for the brightly lit and rather abrasive sound quality of the later studio productions. Michael Jameson