Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Offenbach/Suppé
LABELS: MCA Millennium Classics
WORKS: Overtures
PERFORMER: Vienna State Opera Orchestra/ Hermann Scherchen, Julius Rudel
CATALOGUE NO: MCD 80106 ADD (1959)
Despite their divergent handling, these early stereo Westminster recordings with the Vienna State Opera Orchestra (alias the Vienna Philharmonic) are well worth hearing. Neither conductor perhaps has quite the élan or showmanship of a Paray (Mercury) or a Frémaux (EMI). Yet Scherchen’s theatre-pit manner and Rudel’s symphonic (almost Mahlerian) weighting offer their own exhilaration, Rudel’s tempi, in particular, emphasising a grandeur, intensity and colour often glossed over. Ates Orga