Schurmann: Six Studies of Francis Bacon; Variants

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Schurmann
LABELS: Chandos
WORKS: Six Studies of Francis Bacon; Variants
PERFORMER: BBC SO/Gerard Schurmann
This is an exciting release, well worth getting hold of. Both works are sets of variations. Six Studies of Francis Bacon, based on the dramatic expressionistic paintings of the 20th-century English painter, is a brilliantly orchestrated set of perspectives and distortions which contrasts the aggressive side of Bacon’s work (compare Turnage’s Three Screaming Popes) with attractive lyrical episodes. Variants is a compact gem for chamber orchestra, of Bartókian descent, finely judged and shaded, with wind and string passages alike beautifully executed by the BBC SO in a memorable performance under the composer. Roderic Dunnett