Shostakovich/Britten: Symphony No. 10; Sinfonia da Requiem

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Shostakovich/Britten
WORKS: Symphony No. 10; Sinfonia da Requiem
PERFORMER: Philharmonia Orchestra, CBSO/Simon Rattle
CATALOGUE NO: CDM 7 64870 2 DDD (1985/84)
An extraordinarily generous yet pertinent coupling of two of this century’s most powerful symphonic utterances. Rattle gives a brooding and forceful account of the Britten, emphasising the work’s darker undercurrents even in the emotional release of the final ‘Requiem aeternam’. He is more wayward in the expansive opening movement of the Shostakovich, though the finale brings a greater sense of urgency. Erik Levi