Strauss, Johann/Josef

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Johann/Josef,Strauss
LABELS: DG Galleria
WORKS: Waltzes; Polkas
PERFORMER: Berlin PO/Herbert von Karajan
CATALOGUE NO: 437 255-2 ADD (1967/71)
The Berlin Philharmonic may not have this music in its blood like its Viennese counterpart, but it certainly boasts an authentic rhythmic and metrical sense and indeed produces a beautiful sound. Karajan’s approach suggests the concert hall more than the ballroom. That said, there are few better played or more enjoyable collections of these old favourites, from the Blue Danube and Emperor waltzes to the Pizzicato and Tritsch-Tratsch polkas. Matthew Rye