Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Strauss/Dvorak
LABELS: Sheffield Lab
WORKS: Violin Sonata in E flat
PERFORMER: Arnold Steinhardt (violin)Lincoln Mayorga (piano)
If you strain your eyes at the small print you can read which works are on this disc. Why are the producers so shy, but then why are the two performers on the back of the booklet riding a tractor, of all things? Pass. The youthful Strauss Sonata is an interesting forerunner of symphonic poems to come in structure and texture, the Dvorák pieces are wistful and charming, the Sonatina an obvious product of his American sojourn. All receive sympathetic performances, but only audiophiles will appreciate what ‘using our new Ultra Analog-based 20 bit A/D converter feeding into an Apogee UV 22 encoder’ means. I preferred the music. Christopher Fifield