Stravinsky: Pulcinella; Danses concertantes

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Stravinsky
LABELS: VJ 5 61107 2 DDD (1990)
WORKS: Pulcinella; Danses concertantes
PERFORMER: Ann Murray (soprano), Martyn Hill (tenor), David Thomas (bass); City of London Sinfonia/Richard Hickox
CATALOGUE NO: Virgin Virgo
Hickox begins Pulcinella with an irresistible buoyancy and élan, pointing up its quirkiness as it slides between the 18th and the 20th centuries; but a closer attention to characterful detail and a willingness not to take the notes at face value might have reduced the overall impression of routine, exacerbated by a slightly too reverberant acoustic. Goodish performance of the Danses concertantes. Antony Bye