Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Stravinsky/Mussorgsky
LABELS: Philips
WORKS: The Firebird; Night on the Bare Mountain
PERFORMER: Amsterdam Concertgebouw Orchestra/Colin Davis
CATALOGUE NO: 434 731-2 ADD (1978/9)
One of the finest performances of Stravinsky’s Firebird available. The orchestral playing is outstanding. Davis and the Concertgebouw are highly effective at capturing the iridescence of Stravinsky’s orchestration. The sound quality is clear and spacious, and provides an excellent medium for the wealth of detail here. Strongly recommended, despite an uninspired, if technically sound, performance of the Mussorgsky. Nicholas Rast

Advertisement MPU reviews