Tchaikovsky, Arensky

COMPOSERS: Arensky,Tchaikovsky
LABELS: Mercury Living Presence
WORKS: Symphony No. 1; Symphony No. 2; Symphony No. 3
CATALOGUE NO: 434 391-2
With the LSO in peak form, Dorati delivers high-voltage performances of these early symphonies. Winter Daydreams is particularly compelling, with Dorati relaxing sufficiently to give full sway to the poetic atmosphere of the slow movement. There are some moments, perhaps, when Dorati drives the music too hard, but this can also prove highly beneficial, especially in the Third Sympony where Tchaikovsky occasionally seems to be marking time.