Tchaikovsky/Rachmaninov: Manfred Symphony; Marche slave; Romeo and Juliet

Our rating 
3.0 out of 5 star rating 3.0

COMPOSERS: Tchaikovsky/Rachmaninov
WORKS: Manfred Symphony; Marche slave; Romeo and Juliet
PERFORMER: LSO/André Previn, RPO/Yuri Temirkanov
CATALOGUE NO: CZS 5 69776 2 ADD 1973-78
Often absent from so-called complete sets of Tchaikovsky symphonies, Manfred turns up here in the company of a later work in the tradition. These interpretations are at opposite ends of the scale: Temirkanov’s rough around the edges but full of temperament, Previn’s clear-cut and relatively bloodless – the unlicensed tam-tam crashes at the end of Tchaikovsky’s first movement might have worked in a more histrionic performance. Best is the 1972 Romeo and Juliet, high drama set against a velvet backdrop. David Nice