All products and recordings are chosen independently by our editorial team. This review contains affiliate links and we may receive a commission for purchases made. Please read our affiliates FAQ page to find out more.

Leclair: Violin Concertos, Opp 7 & 10

Leila Schayegh (violin); La Cetra Barockorchester Basel (Glossa)

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

Violin Concertos, Opp. 7 & 10
Leila Schayegh (violin); La Cetra Barockorchester Basel
Glossa GCD 924206   61:24 mins

This volume completes Leila Schayegh’s survey of Leclair’s violin concertos. An eloquent advocate for this richly rewarding music, Schayegh effortlessly captures its extrovert virtuosity without any exaggerated or vacuous gesture, and unfailingly conveys the many passages of sensuous allure with intimate and unaffected tenderness.

Few if any expressive details are overlooked, but it is in the native, often dance-related beau chant that Schayegh excels. The Andante gratioso Aria of the Concerto, Op. 10 No. 4 is a fine example, as she affectingly discovers its underlying melancholy. There are flashier versions around, but Schayegh’s understanding of the music and the sensitive partnership of La Cetra Barockorchester Basel, whose contribution I enjoyed more in this volume than in the first of the three, are endearing qualities. Readers, whether familiar or unfamiliar with the pieces, have a treat in store in these performances.

Nicholas Anderson

More reviews

Farrenc: Symphonies Nos 1 & 3

Brescianello – Behind Closed Doors, Vol. 1

Bologne (Saint Georges): Symphonies Concertantes etc

Saint-Saëns: Symphony No. 1; Cello Concerto No. 1 etc

Tchaikovsky: Orchestral Works (Gürzenich/Kitajenko)

R Strauss: Eine Alpensinfonie (Berlin Radio/Jurowski)